Implementing Undo/Redo feature for DbContext of Entity Framework Code-First

Posted on October 11, 2012. Filed under: .Net, C#, Code-First, EF4, Entity Framework, WCF | Tags: , , , , , |


Download Source Code Here: Source Code

I was curious about change tracking and property values of DbContext and  while playing with that I decided to write snapshot manager which would  take snapshot of my each changes by storing entries And this manager also allow me to undo and redo my changes with DbContext.

DbContext will check all the entities of all types when change tracking is enabled and also verify if they have any changes in their data. Automatic Change tracking is enabled by default. Disabling it would not trigger the DbContext update for each change in the entity. Actually it maintains the state of entities. It uses this to determine the changes needed to be pushed to database when SaveChanges() is called.

The Undo and Redo features allow you to easily correct mistakes or based on some scenario, as well as free you to experiment with different routing and data mapping decisions. Undo reverses the last action you performed, and Redo undoes the last Undo action.

So let’s come to point of creating our snapshots of changes. Since DbContext still doesn’t give any event of DbContext.DetectChanges()execution, I have decided to keep my snapshot in my Repository’s CUD( Create , Update , Delete) operations and also allow user to call it explicitly whenever it is needed- Click here to read my Article in Codeproject about this topic.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...